CT About Us

About Us


Committee members

Chair: Margaret Burke

Margaret BURKE, MB FRCPath,
Honorary Consultant Histopathologist,
Department of Pathology,
Harefield Hospital,
Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Trust,
Harefield,Middlesex UB9 6JH
e-mail: M.Burke@rbht.nhs.uk


Members: Ornella Leone; Claire Toquet

Ornella Leone, M.D.
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria S. Orsola-Malpighi
U.O. Anatomia e Istologia Patologica
Via Massarenti 9
40138 Bologna - Italy
e-mail: ornella.leone@aosp.bo.it


Claire Toquet M.D.
CHU Nantes - Hopital Laennec
Service d'Anatomie Cytopathologique B
BD Jacques Monod-Saint Herblain
44093 Nantesv - France
e-mail: claire.toquet@chu-nantes.fr ; claire.torquet@gmail.com


Brief history of the Transplant Steering Committee

In January 2008 a Cardiac Transplant Working Group was established and co-chaired by Professor Annalisa Angelini (Padua, IT) and Dr. Margaret Burke (Harefield, UK). They established digital network links with cardiac transplant pathologists in several European countries and carried out two online collaborative projects on cardiac transplant pathology. In October 2012 the Board of the AECVP upgraded the Working Group to Steering Committee status, with a chairperson (Dr. Margaret Burke) and two members (Dr. Ornella Leone, Bologna IT and Dr. Claire Toquet, Nantes FR). The committee meets quarterly and a report of its activities is given to the twice-yearly meetings of the AECVP Board.



  • To create a European network of interested pathologists to discuss current and evolving practice in cardiac transplant pathology, especially its more controversial areas;
  • to promote quality control studies in diagnostic and technical fields;
  • to undertake multicentre studies on cardiac transplant pathology;
  • to establish working relationships with sister societies involved in cardiac transplantation.

We also seek to establish a referral network for postgraduate educational purposes, especially for pathologists new to this area of practice, and to establish links between cardiac transplant pathologists and transplant cardiologists, immunologists, surgeons and researchers.

European transplant centre network: see table.